81 FORMER LEGISLATORS SIGN LETTER OPPOSING PINE TREE POWER

Bipartisan group cites costs and political control of grid as concerns

We, the undersigned, former members of the Maine State Legislature, wish to publicly state our opposition to a forced takeover of Maine's electric utilities. Although our reasons vary, as do our political affiliations, we firmly believe that the proposed seizure of the state's privately owned utilities would increase costs and insert partisan politics into the operation of Maine's electric grid.

Our climate, our economy, and our communities cannot sustain the financial and environmental costs that the unknown nature of this proposal will almost certainly bring forth. Our current system for delivering electricity, featuring a unique structure of private ownership and tight government oversight, fueled by a work force that combines open shop and union entities, is symbolic of Maine–a melting pot of different personalities and ideologies in pursuit of a common objective, not unlike the names included below.

Collectively, we ask that Maine voters, as well as our contemporaries in the Maine Legislature reject the idea of a forced sale of Maine's transmission and distribution utilities.

Thank you for your consideration,

Aaron Libby Alan Casavant Amv Volk Andrew McLean Anita Peavey-Haskell Bernie Avotte Beth O'Connor Betty Ann Frederic Bill Brown Bob Daigle Bob Folev Brian Hobart Bruce Bickford Cathy Nadeau Chad Grignon Charlie Webster Charlotte Warren Chris Caiazzo Chris O'Neil Dale Crafts Dave Bustin David Brenerman David Johnson David Marshall David Richardson David Sawicki Deb Sanderson

Deborah Plowman Dennis Keschl Dianne Tilton Don Marean Doug Damon Dustin White Dusty Fisher Earl Bierman Ed Kane Ed Suslovic Ed Youngblood Gary Hilliard Greg Nadeau Heather Sirocki Jack Cashman Jane Crosby Giles Jeff Hanley Jeff Pierce Jethro Pease Jim Annis Jim Gillway Jim Hamper Joe Bruno Joel Stetkis John Nutting Karen Gerrish Karl Ward

Ken Fletcher Lester Ordway Mary Small Mike McClellan Norm Higgins Pat McGowan Pat Paradis Patrick Corey Patsy Crockett Paul Stearns Paula Sutton Peter Manning Phyllis Ginzler **Rich Malaby Robert Alley** Rod Whittemore Scott Strom Sherm Hutchins Stanlev Short Stephanie Hawke Stephen Beaudette Sue Austin Tim Marks Tim Theriault Tom Skolfield Tom Winsor Wes Richardson